Summit 2017 logo



Keynote Speaker

David B. Daniel

David B. Daniel is an award-winning teacher with over 25 years of classroom experience. He is a highly sought international speaker and scholar focused on developing evidence demonstrated usable knowledge for educational practice and policy.

A Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science, David has been honored numerous times for his teaching and translational efforts. His recent honors include the Society for the Teaching of Psychology’s Teaching Excellence Award, the Transforming Education through Neuroscience Award and being recognized as one of the top 1% of educational researchers influencing public debate. He was recently appointed to a select panel of the National Academy of Sciences to update and extend the influential NRC report How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School.

David’s scholarship and consulting activities focus on translating scientific findings to usable knowledge, particularly for educational practice, policy, and student learning. He especially enjoys working collaboratively with students and other faculty to translate evidence-based strategies and sustainable teaching and learning practice across disciplines.  

Keynote Address

“Teaching IS Science: Translating the Science of Learning for Nurse Educators”
Nurse educators are essential to the process of translating scientific findings for effective use in education. Teachers provide critical information that enriches scientific theory and inquiry. But is what we call evidence really evidence? To answer that question, Dr. Daniel will discuss the science of learning, steps for responsible and high-impact translation, and generate implications for nurse educators. ​


Debra L. Spunt Lecture Speaker

Kathie Lasater, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF

Kathie Lasater is professor at Oregon Health & Science University, one of the lead programs of the innovative curriculum of the Oregon Consortium for Nursing Education (OCNE). Early on, Dr. Lasater was a pioneer in simulation research, studying the impact of simulation on the development of nursing students’ clinical judgment and becoming an advocate for simulation in nursing education.

The primary outcomes of her initial study were: 1) the Lasater Clinical Judgment Rubric (LCJR), a valid and reliable tool for evaluating learners’ clinical judgment in simulation; and 2) evidence-based outcomes of learners’ responses to and recommendations for simulation. Since then, the rubric has gone global, with translations or those in process in 12 languages.

Dr. Lasater has held leadership roles in subsequent simulation and/or clinical judgment research studies, including several multisite and international studies, and was the interim statewide director of simulation learning at her home institution. She has received multiple teaching awards, most recently in 2014, the Distinguished Faculty Award for Outstanding Teaching. In addition, Dr. Lasater has had the honor to teach faculty and nursing education graduate students about simulation and clinical judgment in the US as well as Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Jordan, and Japan.


Come Together…Right Now
Regardless of educators’ roles in or out of simulation, we can all be involved in new graduate nurses’ transition to practice through creative simulation learning, team practice, and reflective debriefing. ​

Plenary Speakers


Anne R. Bavier, PhD, RN, FAAN
President, National League for Nursing

NLN president Anne R. Bavier, a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, is dean of the College of Nursing and Health Innovation at the University of Texas at Arlington. Previously she was dean of the University of Connecticut School of Nursing, and dean of nursing at Saint Xavier University. In addition to her experience in higher education Dr. Bavier has worked as a program director in the National Institutes of Health National Cancer Institute, and as deputy director of the NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health. She has authored and co-authored numerous publications on nursing education, professional development, and oncology nursing. 


Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
President-Elect, National League for Nursing

Rumay Alexander is professor and director, interim chief diversity officer and special assistant to the chancellor at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Dr. Alexander has a compelling record of leadership and advocacy for equity of opportunity, diversity, and inclusive excellence in academia, the workplace, in national nursing professional organizations, and in her consultant activities. Dr. Alexander provides leadership and resources to three nationally known schools on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus: the nursing school, Gilling’s School of Public Health, and the UNC School of Dentistry. High impact initiatives, devoted to exploring marginalizing processes and generational equity as well as implementing transformative inclusion practices, bear witness to her game-changing works. 


Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN
CEO, National League for Nursing

Dr. Malone's tenure at the NLN has been marked by a retooling of the League's mission to reflect the core values of caring, diversity, integrity, and excellence and an ongoing focus on advancing the health of the nation and the global community. In early 2017, Dr. Malone was named to the prestigious Top 25 Women in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine. In addition, she was ranked amongst the 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare by the magazine in 2010, 2015, and 2016.

Her distinguished career has mixed policy, education, administration, and clinical practice. Dr. Malone has worked as a surgical staff nurse, clinical nurse specialist, director of nursing, and assistant administrator of nursing. During the 1980s she was dean of the School of Nursing at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. She has served as president of the American Nurses Association, deputy assistant secretary for health in the Department of Health and Human Services, and general secretary of the UK’s Royal College of Nursing.


precheck fadavis laerdal chamberlain

western GW U Wolters-Kluwer duquesnese 

Elsevier logo CAE           UTA Logo