News Release

Share This Page

2004 NLN Awardee Bios


M. Louise Fitzpatrick, EdD, RN, FAAN
Connelly Endowed Dean, College of Nursing, Villanova University
The NLN Award for Outstanding Leadership in Nursing Education

For 30 years Louise Fitzpatrick has exhibited exemplary leadership serving tirelessly as educator, dean, author, scholar, and international advocate for excellence in nursing education.

Known globally for her work as a nursing historian, Dr. Fitzpatrick has been published often, most notably, The National Organization for Public Health Nursing: Development of a Practice Field and Present Realities/Future Imperatives in Nursing Education.

Her leadership is exemplified by her participation as a board member for several nursing organizations including Nurse's Educational Funds, Inc., Mercy Health System, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, and the National League for Nursing.

With a strong commitment to diversity, Dr. Fitzpatrick has expanded Villanova University College of Nursing's enrollment to include an international array of students from Jordan to China. Dr. Fitzpatrick began teaching at the college more than 25 years ago and has played a significant role in leading it to a distinguished level of excellence in nationally ranked polls.

Barbara Mitchell, MSN, MS, RN, BC
Executive Director, Nursing 2000
The NLN Award for Outstanding Leadership in Workforce Development

Ms. Mitchell's commitment to promoting, educating, and advancing the nursing profession fuels her work as the executive director of Nursing 2000, Inc. All levels of learners from elementary school children to adults become aware of nursing career possibilities through her leadership of this education-based, non-profit organization.

Co-author of Collaboration of the Promotion of Nursing, a template for replicating the work of Nursing 2000, Ms. Mitchell has ensured that her work can be utilized by others as illustrated recently by the opening of Nursing 2000 North Central Indiana. In 2001, CEOs of health care organizations and prominent state legislators met at the Indiana Nursing Summit to identify current workforce issues and to plan for the future of nursing in the state of Indiana. These grassroots initiatives provide an innovative link between education and practice, and a vital step in overcoming this nation's nursing shortage.

Barbara Mitchell is a tireless advocate for building partnerships between nursing practice, education, and the public in an effort to address nursing workforce issues. She has served on task forces and boards for several prominent organizations and associations such as Colleagues in Caring, Central Indiana Organization of Nurse Executives, and the Indiana Workforce Development Coalition.

Nancy F. Langston, PhD, RN, FAAN
Dean, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Nursing
Award for Outstanding Leadership to the NLN

Nancy Langston has dedicated nearly 30 years of her time, energy, expertise, and enthusiasm to the mission of the National League for Nursing.

Having served as president-elect and president during critical turning points in the NLN organization, Dr. Langston, in partnership with Dr. Ruth Corcoran, NLN's chief executive officer, is largely credited with creating the model of shared governance that established a new level of trust and long term plans to return the organization to its pinnacle of success. As an officer of the board, she managed the development of policies and procedures that are the foundation for the NLN's striking achievements in the past few years.

The establishment of the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education was an initiative that Dr. Langston began to promote more than five years ago. In 2002, the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education was incorporated.

Throughout her countless years of service to the NLN, Dr. Langston has been a remarkable role model and mentor to those she has served with. Her commitment to excellence in nursing education continues to be a tremendous inspiration to all that have the privilege to work with her.