News Release

Share This Page

Dr. Toni Bargagliotti Assumes NLN Presidency



October 28, 2005 – New York, NY – After serving the National League for Nursing as president- elect for the past two years, Dr. L. (Toni) Bargagliotti, DNSc, RN, has assumed the presidency for a two-year term. In her inaugural address at the annual NLN Education Summit in Baltimore, MD, calling the presidency the greatest honor of her professional life, she exhorted an audience of 1400 nurse faculty, “Whatever you do in nursing education, you hold the future of nursing and therefore of health care in your hands every day. Think of the number of people across the US whose lives are being saved right now. You or someone you know taught all of those nurses.”

Dr. Bargagliotti has served as dean of the Loewenberg School of Nursing at the University of Memphis since 1992. During that time it has grown significantly and is today recognized as one of the premier nursing schools in the nation. Under Dr. Bargagliotti's leadership, the school’s enrollment more than doubled, a master’s degree program in nursing was established, and graduates of the baccalaureate program have consistently far exceeded the pass rates of other schools of nursing in the state. On leave of absence during her NLN presidency, she will retain her role as a tenured professor in the school of nursing.

M. Elaine Tagliareni, EdD, RN, professor and Independence Foundation chair at the Community College of Philadelphia is the 2005-2007 NLN president-elect. From her wide-ranging participation and leadership on the NLN Board of Governors and NLN advisory councils and committees, Dr. Tagliareni has played a key role in fostering innovation and in promoting the nurse educator role as advanced practice. Through her involvement with grant funded projects she has helped merge theory with dynamic change on both local and national levels.

Cathleen Shultz, PhD, RN, FAAN, who begins a three-year term as treasurer of the NLN, has been dean of Harding University College of Nursing in Searcy, Arkansas for 25 years. Her extensive leadership and fiduciary experience includes service as president of the Arkansas State Board of Nursing and the Arkansas Nurses’ Association, treasurer of the Arkansas Nurses Foundation and the Arkansas Nursing Research Consortium, and secretary of the international honor society of nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International.

Newly Elected Governors-at-Large 2005 - 2008

Marsha H. Adams, DSN, RN is the director of the undergraduate program of the University of Alabama Capstone College of Nursing in Tuscaloosa. In addition to her service as chair of NLN task groups and member of the Nursing Education Research Blue Ribbon Panel, Dr. Adams has served as president and secretary of the Alabama League for Nursing. She brings experience in organizational and fiscal management, continuing education, strategic planning, and accreditation.

Director of the Practical Nursing Program at Union County College in Plainfield, NJ, Patricia A. Castaldi, MSN, has 25 years of nursing education experience in RN and LPN programs, both as faculty and administration. She further contributes to nursing education through her presidency of the Practical Nurse Educators Council and her service on the board and program committee of the New Jersey League for Nursing. Ms. Castaldi has also served as a member of the executive board of the Association of Diploma Schools of Professional Nursing and Colleagues in Caring education workgroups.

A nurse educator for more than 33 years, Linda S. Christensen, JD, MSN, RN, is dean of the nursing department at Clarkson College in Omaha. A leader in national, state, and local activities that promote quality nursing education, Ms. Christensen has served the NLN, the National Organization of Specialized Colleges of Nursing and Allied Health, the Liaison Group of Nebraska Nursing Organizations, the Nebraska Assembly of Nursing Deans and Directors, and the Licensed Practical Nurses Association of Nebraska. She is a member of the American and Nebraska Bar Associations.

Brother Ignatius Perkins, OP, DNSc, MA Ed, RN, FAAN, is vicar provincial for administration and coordinator of health care ethics programs, Dominican Friars Health Care Ministry of New York. He served as dean of the College of Health and Natural Sciences, Spalding University School of Nursing in Louisville, KY; executive vice president of the National Catholic Bioethics Center in Boston; and associate academic dean and chair, Department of Nursing, College of Mount St. Joseph, in Cincinnati. He previously served the NLN as secretary of the board and charter trustee of the Foundation for Nursing Education.

The new public member of the board for a one-year term is Peggy J. Miller, CPA, chief executive officer of Astoria-Pacific, Inc. in Clackamas, Oregon. Ms. Miller has served the National League for Nursing in a variety of capacities including treasurer of the board of governors. Her contributions to the NLN and its affiliates in the areas of fiscal management and planning were recognized at the 1995 biennial convention with a special Presidential Distinguished Service Award.

“These accomplished professionals and leaders in nursing education make a wonderful addition to the NLN’s already distinguished board of governors,” said NLN CEO Dr. Ruth Corcoran. “I look forward to their guidance as the National League for Nursing continues to advance excellence in nursing education.”

Editors and reporters: For interview opportunities and more information, please contact NLN communications director Karen R. Klestzick at 212-812-0376,