News Release

Share This Page

NLN to Honor Leaders in Nursing Education at Annual Education Summit

Shaping History, Reforming Health Care: The Power of
Nursing Education
Wednesday, September 29 - Saturday, October 2, 2010
Caesars Palace, Las Vegas


New York, NY — September 2, 2010 — With a sell-out crowd expected at the National League for Nursing's 2010 Education Summit later this month in Las Vegas, there is no better time to recognize the contributions of outstanding leaders in nursing education. Award ceremonies have been planned to take place throughout the four-day Summit to laud these select faculty members. Among them are four winners of the NLN President's Award, named by NLN president Cathleen Shultz, PhD, RN, CNE, FAAN.

"These special nurse educators are being honored as exemplars for their exceptional contributions to raising the standards of excellence in nursing education over years of dedicated teaching, service, and research. I can think of no more appropriate time to call attention to their outstanding accomplishments than at this gathering of peers and colleagues," said Dr. Shultz.

During Wednesday's Opening Session, (September 29, 4:00-6:00 pm) Carrie B. Lenburg, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF, is to receive the President's Award for an Enduring Legacy in Nursing Education.

The following day, at the Plenary Session, (September 30, 8:30-10:00 am) Jo Eleanor Elliott, BSN, AM, RN, FAAN will be honored with the President's Award: A Champion in the Shaping of Nursing Education.

Two research awards will be bestowed following the CEO Address on Friday morning (October 1, 8:30-8:50 am) at a presentation that will also include an announcement of the Centers of Excellence (9:00-10:00 am): the President's Award for Creativity and Innovation in Nursing Education to Patricia Benner, PhD, RN, FAAN; and the President's Award for Transforming the Image of Nursing to Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing's Future (accepted by Andrea Higham and Lorie Kraynak, on behalf of J & J).

Saturday evening's President's Reception and Awards Banquet (5:30-9:30 pm), the culmination of the invigorating conference, will feature the induction of new fellows to the Academy of Nursing Education and the awarding of NLN's two annual awards: Outstanding Leadership in Nursing and Education to Lin Zhan, PhD, RN, FAAN; and Outstanding Leadership in Workforce Development to Deborah Raines, PhD, RN, ANEF.

In addition, the Third Annual Constituent League Awards will be presented at a pre-Summit Constituent League Leadership Workshop on Wednesday, September 29. Two award-winners for Outstanding Leadership of a Constituent League have been named this year: Michelle Foley, immediate past president and current treasurer of the NJ League for Nursing, and Nancy Bittner, PhD, RN, president of the Massachusetts/Rhode Island League for Nursing. The selection was based on nominations received from the field of NLN-affiliated constituent leagues.

(Brief bio sketches of individual NLN President's and NLN Annual Award-winners are here.)

Registration Questions: For all registration questions regarding the NLN Education Summit 2010, please contact NLN Summit Registration at 800-321-6338.

Reporters/Editors: To attend or cover any portion of the 2010 Education Summit or to arrange advance interviews, please contact Karen Klestzick, chief communications officer, at 212-812-0376 or

Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers faculty development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 32,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members who represent all types of nursing education programs.