News Release

Share This Page

National League for Nursing Announces Selections for Faculty Leadership Development Program for Simulation Educators

National League for Nursing Announces Selections for Faculty Leadership Development Program for Simulation Educators

Second Cohort Begins Year-Long NLN Leadership Institute Program


New York, NY — October 14, 2011 — Twenty nurse educators have been selected through a competitive application for the year-long Leadership Development Program for Simulation Educators. This National League for Nursing faculty development initiative is designed for those interested in assuming a leadership role in the field of simulation in nursing education.

Those selected represent the second cohort of nurse educators, chosen from institutions around the United States, to study for a year under the direction of Pamela Jeffries, DNS, RN, FAAN, ANEF. Dr. Jeffries, the author of numerous scholarly articles on the subject and editor of Simulations in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation (NLN, 2007), is a professor in the Department of Health Systems and Outcomes and associate dean for academic affairs at Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing. She is nationally known for her research and work in developing simulations and online teaching and learning.

At Hopkins and throughout the academic community, Dr. Jeffries is well regarded for her expertise in experiential learning, innovative teaching strategies, new pedagogies, and the delivery of content using technology in nursing education. She served as project director for a national simulation study funded by Laerdal Medical Corporation and was named to the same role for a second NLN-Laerdal grant to facilitate the development of web-based courses for faculty development in simulation and the national Simulation Innovation Resource Center (SIRC). She currently serves on a five-year Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) grant to develop Health Information Technology Scholars (HITS).

"I am delighted that Dr. Jeffries has agreed to direct this important NLN initiative for a second year, working with a new group of talented emerging leaders in simulation," said Dr. Beverly Malone, CEO of the NLN. "This program of the NLN Leadership Institute has already proven to be an exceptional learning experience that, consistent with the NLNs core values of caring, integrity, diversity, and excellence, prepares participants as thought leaders for the 21st century and role models to the next generation."

To expand the science of nursing education related to simulation while developing their personal leadership portfolios, participants spend the year engaged in varied activities. Participants began their experience with two days in Orlando in September, just prior to the NLNs 2011 Education Summit. Looking ahead, the group will participate in leadership development webinars; exchange ideas and best practices in simulation in private forums and conference calls; review existing scholarly research; visit simulation centers around the country to evaluate resources and operations; consult with Laerdal representatives on equipment issues; contribute to a group project to develop or expand the Simulation Information Resource Center (SIRC) website; and attend conferences.

Those selected for the 2011-2012 Simulation Leadership Development Program are:

Celeste Marie Alfes, DNP, RN
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

Barbara Aronson, PhD, RN, CNE
Southern Connecticut State University, New Haven

Mitzi Averette, BSN, RN
Fayetteville Technical Community College, Fayetteville, NC

Melody Bethards, MSN, RN, CNE
Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, IA

Tracy A. Chesney, MSN, RN
Carrington College-Westside, Phoenix, AZ

Rosalinda DeLuna, MS, RN, CCRN
Indiana University Northwest, Gary

John J. Duffy, MSN, CCRN, CNRN
Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA

Dawn E. Ferry, MSN, RN
Widener University, Chester, PA

Connie Bierly Ford, MS, RN, CNP
Cedarville University, Cedarville, OH

Laura Gonzalez, PhD, ARNP, CNE
University of South Florida, Tampa

Scott V. Hudson, MSN, RN
University of Texas at Austin, School of Nursing

Janet Jackson, MS, RN
Bradley University, Peoria, IL

Jack Jaeger, BSN, CCRN
Rural Health Innovation Collaborative Simulation Center, Terre Haute

Karen Mittura, MSN, CCRN, CNE
Germanna Community College, Locust Grove, VA

Rebecca H. Newton, MS, RN
University of Southern Mississippi School of Nursing, Hattiesburg

Robbie R. Stefanski, MSN, RN
University of Louisiana at Lafayette, College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions

Carman Laura Turkelson, MSN, RN, CCRN
Critical Care Nurse Educator, Lapeer Regional Medical Center, Lampeer, MI

Amy Weaver, MSN, RN, ACNS-BC
Youngstown State University, Department of Nursing, Youngstown, OH

Susan Windnagel, MSN, RN
Whatcom Community College, Bellingham, WA

Susan Winters, PhD, RN
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Carbondale

For more information about the Leadership Development Program for Simulation Educators, please contact Mary Anne Rizzolo, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF at

Reporters/Editors: For interview opportunities, please contact Karen R. Klestzick, chief communications officer, at 212-812-0376 or

Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education, offering professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 35,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members.