News Release

Share This Page

NLN Awards and Grants Programs Highlighted at 2013 NLN Education Summit

NLN Awards and Grants Programs Highlighted at 2013 NLN Education Summit

Recipients of NLN/Hearst Foundations Awards; Constituent League Leadership Awards; and Research Grants Honored


Washington, DC, October 23, 2013 — Nurse educators willing to go the extra mile to fulfill the mission of the National League for Nursing within their state-based professional networks; schools of nursing that have demonstrated exceptional instruction in the expanding field of geriatric nursing education; and distinguished faculty-scholars whose research is advancing the science of nursing education and evidence-based practice were formally lauded by the National League for Nursing last month at its annual premiere event, the NLN Education Summit. The four-day capacity gathering of faculty, deans and administrators, and executives from health care organizations took place in Washington, DC, September 18-21.

"The NLN takes pride in recognizing, through its varied awards and grants programs, the signature achievements of leading nurse educators across the spectrum of higher education," noted NLN president Marsha Adams, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF. Added CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, "Those who make the time and effort to educate colleagues about the importance of creating and sustaining a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the nations health and those whose scholarly research paves the way for transformative curriculum content and instructional pedagogies; deserve this public honor."

Five Distinguished Nursing Education Scholars Named NLN 2013 Research Grantees

The NLNs research grants program supports rigorous, high-quality studies that contribute to the development of the science of nursing education. The NLN is deeply committed to supporting beginning researchers as well as veteran nursing education scholars. Funding from the NLN, which has steadily grown in the past decade from an initial $12,000 to more than $80,000 annually, is supported by endowments and donations to the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education.

To be eligible for support, projects have to meet at least one of the NLNs current research priorities, approved by the NLN Board of Governors, which place a particular emphasis on transforming nursing education for the contemporary health care environment. The program favors multi-site projects that involve partnerships between practice and academic learning environments.

The 2013 research grantees, along with their named awards and research projects, are:

  • Joyce Griffin-Sobel Research Award
    • Standardized Patient versus Role-Play Strategies: A Comparative Study Measuring Patient-Centered Care and Safety in Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing
    • Celeste Alfes, DNP, MSN, RN, principal investigator; and co-investigator Margaret Wheatley, PhD, RN; Case Western Reserve University

  • Nancy Langston and Ruth Corcoran Research in Nursing Education Award
    • Development of a Behavioral Observation Instrument for Teamwork and Collaboration in Pre-licensure Nursing Students to Support Quality and Safety Education in Nursing Competencies
    • Elizabeth Madigan, PhD, RN, FAAN, principal investigator; and co-investigators, Mary Dolansky, PhD, RN and Rebecca Patton, MSN, RN, CNOR, FAAN; Case Western Reserve University
  • Dorothy Otto Research Award
    • Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of a Significant Nursing Education Issue: Student Evaluations of Courses and Instructors
    • Theresa Valiga, EdD, RN, CNE, FAAN, ANEF, Duke University
  • Mary Anne Rizzolo NLN Dissertation/DNP Project Award
    • Debriefing Practices in Nurse Education Programs in the United States
    • Mary Fey, MS, RN, University of Maryland
  • Midwest Nursing Research Society/NLN Dissertation/DNP Project Award
    • The Effect of Simulation on Hand Hygiene Knowledge, Beliefs, and Behaviors of Nursing Students
    • Tara Konicki, MSN, RN, University of Cincinnati
  • Six Nursing Schools Take Home NLN Hearst Foundations Excellence in Geriatric Education Awards

    As part of an intensive focus on teaching care of older adults, the NLN, with support from the Hearst Foundations, in 2012 inaugurated the Excellence in Geriatrics Education Award to recognize schools of nursing that utilize ACES (Advancing Care Excellence for Seniors) resources to demonstrate exceptional instruction and innovation in this key area of nursing education.

    The web-based ACES program, whose expansion was made possible by a generous $1.2 million multi-year Hearst Foundations grant, was originally developed by the NLN in partnership with Community College of Philadelphia, with support from the John A. Hartford and Independence Foundations and Laerdal Medical. Nursing schools become eligible to receive the new NLN Hearst Foundations Award by participating in one of the Hearst-funded state workshops held in the past year to provide guidance to faculty in teaching geriatrics, utilizing ACES: Essential Nursing Actions as a guide.

    Between 2012 and 2015, it is anticipated that about dozen schools of nursing will be selected for this prestigious and timely honor. The 2013 winning schools are:

    • Iowa Western Community College, Council Bluffs
    • Minnesota State University, Mankato
    • MiraCosta College, Oceanside, CA
    • The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
    • Trinity Health/Mount Carmel Health Systems, Columbus, OH
    • Ursuline College, Pepper Lake, OH

    2013 Constituent League Leadership Awards Made

    Each year, the NLN recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, service, and commitment to the mission of a constituent league and also to a constituent league that has successfully implemented an innovation that supports the NLN mission and goals within the past two years. (For example: innovations in member engagement, programming, and collaboration.)

    This years Constituent League Leadership Award winners are:

    • For Outstanding Leadership of a League: Marcia Proto of the Connecticut League for Nursing
    • For Outstanding Innovation of a Constituent League: The Connecticut League for Nursing

    Editors and reporters: For interview opportunities, please contact NLN chief communications officer, Karen R. Klestzick at 202-909-2483 or

    Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 38,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members. NLN members represent nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education, and health care organizations and agencies.