News Release

Share This Page

NLN to Present Awards to State-Affiliated Constituent Leagues

NLN Announces 2017 Research Grants, NLN Foundation Scholarships, and Jonas Scholars
September 13, 2017

Press Contact: Karen R. Klestzick

NLN to Present Awards to State-Affiliated Constituent Leagues

Presentation Set for Friday, Sept. 15 at Education Summit in San Diego
Washington, DC, September 13, 2017 - Each year at its Education Summit, the National League for Nursing recognizes one of its Constituent Leagues and a Constituent League leader for outstanding contributions to advancing the mission of the NLN, and this year is no exception.

The Constituent League awards will be presented on Friday morning, September 15, following the annual CEO Summit Address by Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, in a convocation that includes the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education scholarship, research grants and Jonas Scholar awards.

"We count on our Constituent Leagues to help spread the NLN message of sustained, inclusive, culturally sensitive educational excellence in the preparation of the next generation of nurses to deliver outstanding patient care, advancing the health of the nation and the global community," remarked Dr. Malone. "We owe a debt of gratitude to them all and salute the 2017 award winners for their exceptional service."

Constituent League Excellence in Innovation Award:
Wisconsin League for Nursing (WLN)

The WLN has focused on advancing excellence in nursing education through the distribution of $41,000 in scholarships, partnering with public and private funding sources cultivated by the league's leadership and strategic networking:
  • Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield support to seventeen degree candidates in nursing programs ranging from associate degree to master's degrees
  • Helen Daniels Bader Fund (HBDF), two-year grant to promote advanced nursing studies with an emphasis on gerontology in rural areas. Based on an extreme shortage of nurses and individuals who are able to care for older adults, the WLN offers tuition support to individuals who will focus on gerontology as they pursue an advanced practice nursing degree or post-master's certification in gerontology nursing.
  • Deaconess Nursing Alumni Association Scholarship Funds, including the LaVerne Foster Memorial Scholarship awarded to a high school student planning to begin a nursing education program; and the Capt. Russell Seager Memorial Scholarship (Capt. Seager, a 1981 Deaconess graduate and psychiatric nurse practitioner, was killed in the mass shooting at Fort Hood in 2009)
  • Jeannette McKelvey Scholarship, provided by the Greater Milwaukee Foundation, in support of an undergraduate or graduate nursing student, and in recognition of the service of nurses to the health of a community
  • NurseTim, Inc., an independent provider of online and on-site interactive continuing nursing education content, scholarship to doctoral candidate in nursing education
  • Herb Kohl Philanthropies Scholarship, established in 1977 by Herbert Kohl, former long-serving Wisconsin lawmaker
Constituent League Excellence in Leadership Award:
Donna Murray, RN, MSN, APN, C, WHNP-BC
New Jersey League for Nursing

Long a role model and mentor to NJLN members, Ms. Murray has been active in the league for more than twenty years, most recently as president-elect in 2014 and president since 2016. It's fair to say that her volunteerism is contagious, inspiring others to commit time and energy to fulfilling the mission and goals of the NJLN. For example, she has led efforts to rebrand and re-energize the NJLN as it embarks on the next 100 years of promoting and supporting the image of New Jersey nurses. This is being accomplished through a process of reflection and assessment to identify the scope and needs of NJLN members and nursing community at-large and development of a plan to achieve measurable goals. In that spirit, Ms. Murray has spearheaded collaborative initiatives to implement automated communications and other administrative functions of the NJLN and retool the website to better respond to demands of current membership and the changing climate of technology.

Editors/Reporters: For interview opportunities, please contact Karen R. Klestzick, chief communications officer at the NLN, at 202-909-2483 or More about the NLN awards programs may be found at:

Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers faculty development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its more than 40,000 individual and more than 1,200 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations.

Events | News Release Archive | NLN Press | NLN Vision Series (Position Statements)

Join the NLN's online community.

National League for Nursing | The Voice for Nursing Education
2600 Virginia Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20037 |

To unsubscribe from Press Releases email, send an email to