News Release

Share This Page

National League for Nursing Leaders in the Spotlight as American Academy of Nursing & STTI Select 2019 Honorees

July 10, 2019

For Immediate Release
Press Contact: Michael Keaton
National League for Nursing Leaders in the Spotlight as American Academy of Nursing & STTI Select 2019 Honorees
Washington, DC — The National League for Nursing is proud to share the news that three of its top-ranked leaders have been selected this year for prestigious honors by two of nursing's leading professional associations: the honor society Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) and the American Academy of Nursing, an advocacy organization for health policy, scholarship, and practice.

Dr. Launette Woolforde, a governor at-large on the NLN Board of Governors, and Drs. Susan Gross Forneris and Barbara Patterson, both serving in key positions on the NLN's professional staff, have been named Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing. They join more than 2,800 colleagues—231 elected this year—who comprise the Academy's membership, representing nursing's most accomplished leaders in education management; practice, and research.

These include university presidents; deans, and directors of nursing schools; state and federal health care officials; and hospital and other health care executives, among others. Election to fellowship reflects their distinctive individual accomplishments as well as their valuable contributions to and positive impact on health care throughout their distinguished careers. Formal induction will take place at a ceremony during the Academy's annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, in Washington, DC, October 24–26.

In addition to her Academy honor, Launette Woolforde, EdD, DNP, RN-BC, vice president for nursing education and professional development at Northwell Health, a major hospital system in metro New York, is the recipient of the 2019 Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice, one of five named Founders Awards made by STTI. An awards presentation is planned for the society's 45th Biennial, November 16–20, in Washington, DC.

Over 19 years in nursing education, Dr. Woolforde has contributed to the development of countless nurses and nursing students. She has been associated with Northwell Health since 2005, serving in a variety of capacities there: nurse educator in LPN through BSN programs; orientation coordinator; corporate director for nursing education; and senior administrative director for patient care services. She is also an assistant professor in the Hofstra-Northwell School of Medicine.

At the League, Susan Gross Forneris, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE-A, a renowned scholar in simulation education, is director of the NLN Center for Innovation in Education Excellence. With its focus on faculty development in the growing arena of online and virtual tools to enhance teaching and learning through evidence-based, strategic best practices, the Center highlights programs and activities channeled through two educational perspectives: the Institute for the Care of Vulnerable Populations and the Institute for Simulation and Technology. Dr. Forneris has worked in the field of clinical simulation since 2007 and was among the 20 nurse educators from around the country to be in the 2010 inaugural cohort of NLN simulation leaders developing and implementing simulation initiatives.

Barbara Patterson, PhD, RN, ANEF, is the distinguished scholar of the NLN-Chamberlain University College of Nursing Center for the Advancement of the Science of Nursing Education. Dr. Patterson also directs the PhD program for the School of Nursing at Widener University in Chester, Pennsylvania. At the NLN, she is the resident expert on the League's initiatives to fund and develop cutting-edge research based on rigorous scientific inquiry. As the only national nursing organization today funding nursing education research, the NLN recognizes that such endeavors are fundamental to nursing education of the highest standards. In addition to its competitive program of grants and dissertation awards, the NLN publishes a respected peer-reviewed journal, Nursing Education Perspectives; organizes Scholarly Writing Retreats; and offers faculty development resources in evidence-based pedagogy that aligns education with national health care priorities.

"It came as no surprise that Launette, Sue, and Barbara are being recognized this year by two such fine professional associations, outpacing the competition from a strong field of colleagues in nursing education," said NLN President G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN, and professor and associate vice chancellor/chief diversity officer at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. "We have been so fortunate at the NLN to have had the benefit of their expertise, thought leadership, and generous spirit, in their dedication to advancing excellence in nursing education for generations to come."

Added NLN CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, "On behalf of the National League for Nursing, it is my pleasure to congratulate Launette, Sue, and Barbara. I look forward to years ahead of working together and learning from them as we co-create initiatives that continue to build a strong diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of the nation and the global community."

About the National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 40,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations. Learn more at
Events | News Release Archive | NLN Press | NLN Vision Series (Position Statements)

Join the NLN's online community.

National League for Nursing | The Voice for Nursing Education
2600 Virginia Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20037 |

To unsubscribe from Press Releases email, send an email to