News Release

Share This Page

NLN Announces 2018 Centers of Excellence in Nursing Education

July 24, 2018

For Immediate Release Contact: Jane Calem Rosen
NLN Announces 2018 Centers of Excellence (COE)
in Nursing Education
Washington, DC, July 24, 2018 — Sixteen nursing programs nationwide, across the academic spectrum of higher education in nursing and leading teaching hospitals and clinical sites, have been named NLN Centers of Excellence, the National League for Nursing has announced. Award recipients will be formally recognized during the Honors Convocation at the 2018 NLN Education Summit, on Friday, September 14. The annual Summit draws a capacity crowd of nurse faculty, deans, administrators, and professionals from allied health organizations.

The 2018 year’s award recipients are listed below:

Enhancing Student Learning and Professional Development
  • Clemson University*
  • Eastern Arizona College
  • The George Washington University School of Nursing
  • Georgetown University School of Nursing and Health Studies
  • The Ohio State University*
  • Phillips School of Nursing at Mount Sinai Beth Israel*
  • Purdue University Northwest*
  • Saint Xavier University*
  • Texas Tech University Health Science Center*
  • The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • University of Delaware
  • Washtenaw Community College
Promoting the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty
  • Boston College
  • Fairfield University Marion Peckham Egan School of Nursing
  • The University of Alabama in Hunstville College of Nursing
Advancing the Science of Nursing Education
  • The University of Alabama Capstone College of Nursing
"Congratulations to these exceptional institutions who comprise the 2018 class of NLN Centers of Excellence," said NLN President G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN, associate vice chancellor for diversity and inclusion/chief diversity officer and professor at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. "The individuals behind this label, the faculty, deans, and administrators, deserve our deepest gratitude for creating and sustaining educational excellence in nursing. COE faculty and staff bear a responsibility to share their experience, knowledge, and wisdom for the benefit of everyone in nursing education."

"Centers of Excellence help raise the bar for all nursing programs by role modeling visionary leadership and environments of inclusive excellence that nurture the next generation of a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of the nation and the global community," NLN CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, noted.

Each year since 2004, the NLN invites nursing schools to apply to become a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education institution, based on their ability to demonstrate in measurable terms sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, or student learning and professional development.

For more information about the program and application requirements, including the 2019 timeline, please visit:

NLN Education Summit information and registration.

*Continuing designation

About the National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers faculty development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its more than 40,000 individual and more than 1,200 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations.
Events | News Release Archive | NLN Press | NLN Vision Series (Position Statements)

Join the NLN's online community.
National League for Nursing | The Voice for Nursing Education
2600 Virginia Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20037 |

To unsubscribe from Press Releases email, send an email to