News Release

Share This Page

NLN Announces Election Results at 2020 Virtual Summit

Media Contact: Michael Keaton; 202-909-2544
NLN Announces Election Results at 2020 Virtual Summit

Two New Governors At-Large Join Board, Along with Title Changes for Volunteer & Professional Leadership

Washington, DC — The National League for Nursing 2020 election results were announced during the Annual Business Meeting at the 2020 NLN Education Summit, which took place virtually for the first time ever, September 23-25.

With the passage of the 2020 NLN Bylaws, Dr. Patricia Yoder-Wise's and Dr. Kathleen Poindexter’s titles’ have been renamed NLN chair and NLN chair-elect. The change represents a more accurate reflection of their lead roles representing the 40,000+ strong association of nurse educators and affiliated health care professionals and organizations. At the same time, the membership voted to add the title of president to that of CEO Dr. Beverly Malone.

“Dr. Beverly Malone — Bev — has more than earned this recognition as the guiding force of the National League for Nursing. She has inspired the Board and others to be focused and visionary every day in contributing to the important work of transforming excellence in nursing education in the preparation of a nursing workforce that is caring and diverse,” said Dr. Yoder-Wise, RN, EdD, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAONL, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emerita at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and president of The Wise Group, who also announced the election results.

“My thanks, as always, go to Pat for her steady hand and sage guidance, as my valued colleague and partner in steering the National League for Nursing through all our challenges and opportunities and helping shape a vision of its future,” said Dr. Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN. “And my deepest gratitude, as well, to our hard-working officers and Board, including our newest governors. The senior management and staff could not do their jobs without your dedication and support.”

Dr. Yoder-Wise added, “On behalf of all of us, I would like to salute outgoing Board of Governors members John Lundeen and Launette Woolforde for their outstanding service to the National League for Nursing and the nursing education community. They have provided sound advice as the League has navigated through a changing health care environment. They will be missed.”

Dr. Anne Krouse was re-elected as treasurer, her second term serving in that office. Also, two new governors at-large joined the Board for three-year terms: Dr. Cheryl Hoying and Dr. Yolanda M. VanRiel.

Cheryl Hoying, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAONL, FACHE, FAAN, brings more than 30 years of nursing leadership experience to the Board, including many at the vice president/chief nurse executive/officer level in large academic medical centers and community hospitals. She recently served as chief nurse executive and patient services officer at The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center and before that as senior vice president for patient Services at Cincinnati Children’s Medical Center.

Her portfolio has encompassed acute care, ambulatory, extended care, and health care operations, as well as health care practices related to quality, safety and high reliability. In academia, Dr. Hoying has been an interim dean and associate dean for the University of Cincinnati College of Nursing; assistant dean of clinical affairs for The Ohio State University College of Nursing; adjunct faculty at the Wright State University/Miami Valley School of Nursing and the Mount St. Joseph University College of Nursing; and served on multiple nursing school advisory boards. Professionally active in a number of health care organizations, Dr. Hoying is a past president of the American Organization for Nursing Leadership and has been a valued member of the League; the American Academy of Nursing; Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society; and the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Yolanda M. VanRiel, PhD, RN-BC, OCN, CNE, ANEF, chair of the Department of Nursing at North Carolina Central University and a patient placement coordinator at First Health of the Carolinas-Moore Regional Hospital, has 25 years of nursing experience, including two decades as a nurse educator. A former tenured associate professor and program coordinator of the master’s in nursing education concentration at UNC Greensboro, she also taught in the Certified Nursing Assistant and Associate Degree Nursing Programs at Richmond Community College, her alma mater. The author of numerous presentations, publications and grants, Dr. VanRiel has focused her scholarship on nursing education, provider-patient communications, health disparities and oncology.

Her achievements have been recognized with professional accolades, among them the Richmond Community College Outstanding Alumni Award, NCNA Nurse Educator of the Year Award, Gamma Zeta Chapter STTI Excellence in Nursing Education Award, and the UNC-Greensboro School of Nursing Teaching Excellence Award. A fellow in the NLN Academy of Nursing Education, Dr. VanRiel is a certified nurse educator, with additional certifications in oncology and medical-surgical nursing. Along with the National League for Nursing and the North Carolina League for Nursing, Dr. VanRiel holds memberships in the American Nurses Association; Oncology Nursing Society; and the Gamma Zeta Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. She also served as vice chair on the North Carolina Board of Nursing in 2019.

Complete bios of the entire Board of Governors may be found on the League’s website.

About the National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 40,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations. Learn more at
Events  |  News Release Archive  |  NLN Press  |  NLN Vision Series (Position Statements)