NLN Proudly Announces 2022 Centers of Excellence in Nursing Education

NLN Proudly Announces 2022 Centers of Excellence in Nursing Education

Honorees Recognized for Sustained Excellence in Faculty Development, Nursing Education Research, Student Learning & Professional Development, and Academic Progression in Nursing

Washington, DC — Sixteen nursing education programs across the academic spectrum of higher education in nursing as well as leading teaching hospitals and clinical sites have been named 2022 NLN Centers of Excellence by the National League for Nursing. Formal recognition will take place during the 2022 NLN Education Summit at the Honors Convocation on Friday, September 30.

As in years past, there have been repeat awardees, including Duke University, Emory University, University of Alabama, and University of Kansas. Duke University stands out for being the only institution to have all four designations.

2022 NLN Centers of Excellence

Creating Environments that Promote the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty

Boston College
Duke University School of Nursing
Fairfield University
Indiana University
Pennsylvania State University
University of Alabama in Huntsville
University of South Carolina

Creating Environments that Advance the Science of Nursing Education

Kent State University
University of Alabama
Villanova University

Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development

Emory University
South Dakota State University
University of Delaware
University of Kansas
University of New Mexico

Creating Workplace Environments that Promote the Academic Progression of Nurses

Norton Healthcare

Extending congratulations to the exceptional institutions named 2022 NLN Centers of Excellence, NLN Chair Kathleen Poindexter, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF, interim associate dean of academic affairs at Michigan State University in Lansing said, “It is no secret that it takes a village of scholars and visionary leaders to collaborate to co-create and sustain educational excellence. Those individuals—faculty, deans, and administrators—deserve our deepest gratitude. NLN Centers of Excellence faculty and leadership have proven ready to share their expertise, best practices, and insights with the entire nursing education community to enable more programs to qualify for the prestigious COE designation.” 

NLN President and CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FANN, said, “NLN Centers of Excellence help raise the bar for all nursing programs by role modeling visionary leadership and environments of inclusive excellence that nurture the next generation of a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of the nation and the global community.”

Since 2004, the National League for Nursing has invited nursing schools and programs to apply to achieve COE designation, based on their ability to demonstrate in concrete, measurable terms their sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, student learning and professional development, and academic progression in nursing. Historically, a number of programs have achieved recognition in multiple categories or once designated, have maintained their COE status through multiple award cycles.

For more information about the program and application requirements, visit For more information about the 2022 NLN Education Summit, visit

About the National League for Nursing

Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its nearly 45,000 individual and 1,100 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations. Learn more at

July 14, 2022


Michael Keaton, Deputy Chief Communications Officer