NLN Foundation Announces Annual Scholarship Awards

NLN Foundation Announces Annual Scholarship Awards

Formal Presentation Set for NLN Education Summit in Las Vegas

Washington, DC — Twenty-two scholarships totaling $90,500 are to be awarded for the coming academic year by the National League for Nursing Foundation Scholarship Program. These include 15 winners of the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education faculty scholarships, five undergraduate and advanced nursing students pursuing geriatric nursing, and the winners of two specialized scholarship bequests. The awards presentation will take place during the NLN Education Summit, September 28-30 at the Mirage in Las Vegas.

“We are proud to continue the NLN Foundation’s tradition of scholarship support to deserving students who have demonstrated a deep commitment to pursuing excellence. They represent the future of nursing education, fulfilling the League’s mission to prepare a culturally sensitive, diverse nursing workforce to deliver outstanding and equitable care to advance the health of the nation and global community,” said NLN Foundation Chair Patrick Robinson, PhD, RN, ACRN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN, president, Research College of Nursing.

NLN President and CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, said, “The success of frontline nurses is fueled by expanding the ranks of nurse faculty, which is why the National League for Nursing remains dedicated to funding scholarship opportunities for deserving candidates who pursue careers in nursing education and specialized patient care. Thank you for the generosity of donors to the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education and our partner organizations, like Home Instead Senior Care, which make possible the foundation’s scholarship program.” 

2022 NLN-Home Instead Scholarship Awards

As one of the most vulnerable populations, older adults require more and more frequent health care services. There is widespread acknowledgement that nursing school graduates must be better prepared to respond to the specialized needs of these individuals and their caregivers in hospitals, clinics, and outpatient settings, like long term acute and residential facilities and in-home care. Since 2018, the NLN Foundation and Home Instead have collaborated to foster and promote geriatric nursing education through a $10,000 scholarship fund. Nursing students enrolled in such courses who have completed at least one year of academic study and have had two years of experience in geriatrics are eligible for an award of up to $5,000.

  • Veronica Fitzgerald, RN, BSN, Regis College 
  • Tiara Green, CNA, Tennessee College Of Applied Technology- Clarksville 
  • Sarah Johnston, South Dakota State University
  • Alisha Mitchell, BSN, RN, University of Louisville 
  • Abigail Stine, CNA, Bryant & Stratton College

2022 NLN Foundation for Nursing Education Faculty Scholarship Awards

The NLN Foundation Scholarship Awards Program seeks to support diverse nurses committed to careers in academic nursing education. Hence, awards of up to $8,000 are made to nurses enrolled in accredited master’s or doctoral programs and have completed at least one year of advanced academic study toward their degrees. 

  • Prisca Anuforo, DNP, CTN-A, RN, Duquesne University 
  • Anna Boneberg, MSN, PNP-BC, CN,  Columbia University
  • Gail Hanson Brenner, MSN, RN, CNE, University of Northern Colorado
  • Joyline Chepkorir, RN, Johns Hopkins University 
  • Laurie Connors, PhD, DNP, FNP-BC, AGN-BC, AOCNP, FAANP, Indiana University of Pennsylvania 
  • Karen Geiger, RN, BSN, ACRN , Johns Hopkins University 
  • Dominique Guillaume, MSN, RN, AGPCNP-BC, ACRN, Johns Hopkins University   
  • Lisa Hesser, MSN, RN, OCN, University of West Georgia 
  • Roseline Jean Louis, RN, BSN, MS, Emory University 
  • Shammah Omololu, RN, MN, University of Cincinnati 
  • Anjanette Pong, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CNOR, University of Saint Augustine 
  • Lisa Pugsley, MSN, RN, CNE, CPN, University of West Georgia 
  • Gina Robertiello, MSN, RN, CEN, CHSE, New York University 
  • Kristin Shaub, MSN, RN, CNE, CCRN, Messiah University 
  • Shannon Smith, APRN, ACNS-BC, CNE, University of South Carolina

Edmund J.Y. Pajarillo Health Informatics and Innovation Scholarship Award

With a focus on informatics and innovation in the use of data analysis and health information technology, the Edmund J.Y. Pajarillo scholarship opens a new avenue of scholarship to support the National League for Nursing and its members. Multiple real-world applications of these research studies are urgently needed. A scholarship of up to $2,500 is offered annually to support an applicant enrolled in an accredited graduate-level program in this growing field of nursing education.

Catherine Quay, MSN, RN-BC, CNE, Columbia University

Cecelia Lou Vriheas Scholarship Award

The Cecelia Lou Scholarship is a single $8,000 scholarship awarded to nurses pursuing advanced degrees to establish their career as full-time nurse educators who are the first in their family to pursue higher education and belong to an historically marginalized/excluded group, including but not limited to Black, Indigenous, Native American, Pacific Islander, immigrant populations, and those from rural areas.

Esperanza Gutierrez, RN MSN, University of Rhode Island

For information about the NLN Foundation for Nursing Education, visit


About the National League for Nursing

Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its nearly 45,000 individual and 1,100 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations. Learn more at

September 19, 2022


Michael Keaton, Deputy Chief Communications Officer