NLN Announces 2020 Centers of Excellence™ (COE) in Nursing Education

Press Contact: Michael Keaton; 202-909-2544
NLN Announces 2020 Centers of Excellence™ (COE) in Nursing Education

Nursing Programs, Teaching Hospitals & Clinical Sites Honored for High Standards in Educational Excellence & Visionary Leadership
Washington, DC — Seventeen nursing programs from across the country and the academic spectrum of higher education in nursing as well as leading teaching hospitals and clinical sites have been named 2020 NLN Centers of Excellence™ by the National League for Nursing.

Formal recognition of this prestigious designation will be made at the 2020 NLN Education Summit during the Honors Convocation. This year’s Summit, which will be held virtually for the first time ever, will make it easy for all nurse faculty, deans and administrators, plus professionals from allied health organizations around the world, to celebrate and applaud their colleagues for their success.

The 2020 Centers of Excellence are:

Promote the pedagogical expertise of faculty
Chamberlain University
Francis Marion University
Rutgers University
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
University of Texas at Arlington

Enhance student learning and professional development
Barry University
Collin County Community College
Duquesne University
East Carolina University
Texas A&M University
Trinitas School of Nursing
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
University of Cincinnati
University of South Carolina
Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Widener University

Create workplace environments that promote the academic progression of nurses
University of Kentucky

“Congratulations! These exceptional institutions have been named 2020 NLN Centers of Excellence,” said NLN President Patricia S. Yoder-Wise, RN, EdD, NEA-BC, ANEF, FAONL, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emerita at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and president of The Wise Group. “To earn this recognition, a team of scholars and visionary leaders co-create and sustain educational excellence. Those individuals—faculty, deans and administrators—deserve our deepest gratitude. Centers of Excellence faculty and leadership enjoy the opportunity to share their experience, knowledge and wisdom for the benefit of everyone in nursing education.”

NLN CEO Beverly Malone, PhD, RN, FAAN, said, “NLN Centers of Excellence help raise the bar for all nursing programs by role modeling visionary leadership and environments of inclusive excellence. These environments help nurture the next generation of a strong and diverse nursing workforce to advance the health of the nation and the global community.”

Each year since 2004, the League has invited nursing schools to apply to become a Center of Excellence, based on their ability to demonstrate in concrete, measurable terms sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, or student learning and professional development.

For more information about the program and application requirements, including the 2021 timeline, click here. Complete information about the 2020 NLN Education Summit, including online registration, can be found at

About the National League for Nursing
Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. The NLN offers professional development, networking opportunities, testing services, nursing research grants, and public policy initiatives to its 40,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members, comprising nursing education programs across the spectrum of higher education and health care organizations. Learn more at
Events  |  News Release Archive  |  NLN Press  |  NLN Vision Series (Position Statements)